the Count

When I was in first grade, I lost my two front teeth at the same time. I took it as the opportunity that it was- a chance to run around the playground, declaring ” I vant to bite yourrr neck!” in my scariest voice. As I would approach, baring my fangs, hands outstretched, my friends would let out delighted screams- pretending to be terrified of the vampire. I knew that secretly, they were a little scared of the menacing figure I cut- who wouldn’t be? Of course, since my only exposure to those fanged creatures was the Count on Sesame Street- I also started counting things, and laughing manically – “AH AH AH AH AH!”

Looking back on it, and picturing a six year-old girl imitating a Muppet version of Bela Lugosi‘s Count Dracula, it seems highly improbable that my friends were actually scared..

Nevertheless, the Count still informs my view of what Dracula should look like- here’s a few takes, with various hair + teeth options. (I like to try out different cut paper options, to find the minimum necessary to make a plausible representation of whatever creature or object I’m trying to communicate). Please note that in most of the options, his skin tone is purple, just like the Count!

count2

count3

count6

count5

After much deliberation, I decided to go with this one: just the fangs are cut out with paper- after all, that’s his trademark! The only difference in the finished card will be a widow’s peak- I forgot about that when I was making this one…

count4

Anyway, these days, the only really frightening thing around here is me- talking aloud to myself, in my best imitation of the Count- ” von, two, three- three greeting cards! AH AH AH AH AH!”

One thought on “the Count

  1. Pingback: vampires | fold

Leave a Reply

